Electromagnetic Compliance Test

No electrical product or installation can be designed unless all aspects of EMC are taken into account. This is important for common consumer electornics and appliances and even more for complex products such as vehicles, aircraft, ships and large industrial installations.

EMC means nothing more than “an electronic or electrical product shall work as intended in its environment. The electronic or electrical product shall not generate electromagnetic disturbances, which may influence other products”. In other words, EMC deals with problems of noise emission as well as noise immunity of electronic and electrical products and systems. Electromagnetic disturbances occur as conducted interference as well as radiated emissions and immunity problems.


EMC Standards

Standardization is the driving factor in EMC business. EM TEST participates in standard committee groups from the very beginning. In 1987 we started as an active member in TC65A/WG 4 creating the standards IEC 801-2 for ESD, IEC 801-3 for rf field, IEC 801-4 for EFT/burst, IEC 801-5 for Surge and IEC 801-6 for induced conducted immunity. EMC requirements are specified in a vast number of standard documents issued by various committees and organizations.

Basic standards

Describe the phenomenon, characterize the test equipment and give guidance how tests shall be performed and documented. Basic standards like IEC 61000-4-x form the lowest level in standard’s hierarchy.

Generic standards

Specify test levels for a certain range of application, referring to the Basic Standards for general information. Generic standards give minimum requirements, e.g. for CE Mark (EN 61000-6-1). Generic Standards stand above the Basic standards.

Product family standards

Are used where exist for a certain category of products. They specify test levels and performance criteria. EN 61326, for instance, forms such a Product Family standard dealing with the EMC requirements of equipment for measurement, control laboratory use.

Product standards

Are the most preferred standards as they give strict requirements for a certain product. EN 61800-3 for instance is a Product Standard for adjustable speed electrical power drive systems. Apart from the requirements for EMC this standard also defines special test procedures. Product Standards form the highest level in standard’s hierarchy.

Various manufacturer standards

Apart from thee above four categories there are international and national standards as well as manufacturer standards. Especially in the automotive industry each and every manufacturer has his own EMC requirements which are absolutely compulsory for all suppliers to them. They might refer to National or International standards but often include specific requirements to be fulfilled.


AMETEK CTS unites the key EMC and RF amplifier industry leaders EM TEST, TESEQ, MILMEGA, and IFI in a single powerhouse. Our reach with our uniquely broad, premium, perpetually growing portfolio and superb service extends around the globe to vital industries.